A Historic Day For Tacoma Baseball

The renovated Cheney Stadium opened up last night as the Rainiers played their home opener in front of a sellout crowd of 7,202.

I suppose it was inevitable that it was going to rain during the opener. Not only did we have that familiar misty Puget Sound rain at the first pitch, it did not stop at any point during the game. Yet still, fans seemed to enjoy themselves. As far as I could tell, anyway – with my job, I’m not able to mingle around the crowd and get a sense of people’s impressions.

However, with my new booth, I can actually see the crowd right in front of me (I’m not stuck on the roof anymore!). The people in front of me in Section E appeared to be having a great time at the ballpark – I wished I could bail out of the booth for an inning and join them for a hot dog and some cheering.

I talked with several Rainiers co-workers afterwards and the night went as smooth as could be expected under the circumstances. There were some hiccups, of course – there is still some finishing work being done at the park, and filling it up with all of those people for the first time ever certainly tested it. On the whole, it was a great night.

From my personal area, the broadcast went as well as could be expected. I arrived at about 1:00 in the afternoon and began moving into my booth: equipment, books, etc. I had to make sure all of the proper connections were working, and I was running around looking for cables and power strips and that type of stuff.

The big test of the connection to the radio station passed with flying colors – phew! – and I knew I was in good shape.

Calling the game was fun. Having Eddie Fisher stop by was a joy – we chatted about the Tacoma Giants of the early 1960s, knuckleballs, the 1966 World Series, the changing role of relief pitchers in the 1960s – it was great.

As for the mechanics of the broadcast, I am now situated on the third base line. This is a very different vantage point for me and it’s going to take some getting used to – I had difficulty judging balls hit to the left side, particularly fly balls to left field and if they were fair or foul. A couple more games and this should stop being a problem. Pitch location (inside/outside) is tough to see, but I have a video monitor to help with that.

The game was a back-and-forth affair that saw Sacramento win it, 6-5. Chris Carter drove in five Sacramento runs, including the game-winner with a double to right in the ninth inning.

Carlos Peguero was the big star for the Rainiers. He slugged a homer off the scoreboard in right-center, smashed a rocket off the glove of the Sacramento second baseman, singled sharply to center, and doubled off the giant wall in deep center. Four hard-hit balls for Peguero.

A few “firsts” in the new ballpark:

  • First Pitch: Chaz Roe, Tacoma (ball)
  • First Hit: Jemile Weeks, Sacramento (single)
  • First Tacoma Hit: Alex Liddi (single)
  • First Run: Alex Liddi, Tacoma
  • First Home Run: Carlos Peguero, Tacoma

Tacoma hosts Sacramento again today at 7:05. Tickets are available at the door tonight, and as I type this it is not raining (fingers crossed!). Tacoma starts LHP Fabio Castro (0-1, 6.75) against Sacramento RHP Travis Banwart (0-1, 8.31). The broadcast airs live on 850 AM and streams online.

Links:

  • Cheney Stadium Grand Re-Opening coverage from The News Tribune: Kathleen Merryman with the fan’s perspective, John McGrath with thoughts on the opener, Ryan Divish with the game story, and TNT staff photographers with a photo gallery.
  • The Seattle Times was there, too: Mason Kelley filed this report.
  • Quality bloggers made it out to the park as well: Prospect Insider has photos and a food review, the mysterious and level-headed marc w from USS Mariner was on hand, the Weekly Volcano had a good note on bicycle access.
  • The Cheney Stadium “SuperFlush” was just a ball sitting on a tee for The Nose. I’ll admit it: I laughed at the Rhubarb-in-the-shower line.
  • The Mariners had a late rally fall short in Kansas City.
  • I like the quotes from Michael Saunders in this well-researched Geoff Baker blog post. Nice stat work, Geoff.
  • A Mariners Minor League report from Ryan Divish.
  • There have been many stories written about Mariners reliever Tom Wilhelmsen, but this one from Jim Caple takes the prize.
  • Reno had a record crowd of 9,490 and local boy Konrad Schmidt had a big game in the home opener. This link includes a 60-shot photo gallery. My man Wily Mo Pena launched his fifth homer – look out, PCL record! The ghost of Tony Lazzeri (60, for Salt Lake City in 1925) is worried…
  • Tucson is back in the PCL- and it might be for longer than expected. The Padres had a nice crowd but lost to Salt Lake, 7-6. The outlook is promising in Tucson.
  • Las Vegas held its opener but lost to Fresno in the ninth. Former Rainiers reliever Chad Cordero is with Vegas. Ed Graney had fun at the game in this state-of-Las Vegas baseball round-up, and he dares to mention one of the PCL’s most hallowed and formerly secret traditions: the Jim Gemma Table Knock.
  • Breaking news: Emmanuel Burris was caught stealing. He’s 13-for-14 on the year.
  • New Orleans won its home opener over Round Rock, 4-0. Name to know: Zephyrs starter Tom Koehler, who was a big winner in Double-A last year.
  • Nothing is more depressing than when the home opener is rained out. It’s a real bummer for the fans, and the team front offices. We here at Mike… Off-Mic send out our condolences to Sam Bernabe and his staff, and Martie Cordaro’s crew, also.

Time to head to the ballpark and get further acclimated. Hope to see you out there!

9 Responses to A Historic Day For Tacoma Baseball

  1. Tim says:

    I wasn’t in section E, but in section O, and definitely had a good time! The game and festivities more than made up for the misty weather.

  2. Matt says:

    I was surprised on the placement of the broadcast booth based on the reasons you stated above. Do the location of the booths vary in the PCL parks or is Tacoma an oddball now?

    • Mike Curto says:

      There are several parks where the booths are down the first base line but this is the only one on the third base side. It will be fine; just takes some getting used to.

  3. Matt says:

    My thoughts on opening night…
    Was glad to still see everyone show up despite the weather. Would of been a little more enjoyable if there were more overhead coverage as in the past. (Sorry…had to get my one roof complaint in)
    Everyone got a kick out of the dugout club getting the ‘Splash Mountain’ wave of water everytime a foul ball hit the backstop net.
    As you said I think everything went smooth based on the circumstances and the time crunch. I know everyone put in a lot of hard work and we appreciate it.
    My tickets are in section D on the 3rd base line. One thing I could not help but notice is how dark the stands are now. There was the spot light aiming down on the 1st base line but everywhere else seemed dark in the reserved section. Hoping maybe they can address that in the future and find the happy medium of light. You could barely make the fans out on the big screen when they would pan the crowd after dark.
    I mean how can you have a ‘Kiss Cam’ when no one can see themselves on the screen! 😉
    Excited for the next game!
    **And Darren Brown, you had 3 times to send the guy home, send one of them please!!!

  4. Mike Curto says:

    w/r/t the lighting, they were adjusting the lights up to the opening game. I’m not sure if they are done or if they are still tinkering with them.

    When Brown held Bard at third on Limonta’s single in the eighth I thought it was the right call – but it ended up looking bad because the throw was way off line. Bard ended up scoring anyway so it didn;t matter in the end.

  5. Michael says:

    the only problem with cheney stadium is that the roof is short and came up small… let face it washington weather is predictable rain, sun, some snow, more rain.

  6. Jeff Polite says:

    I was also at the inaugural game (sec. F, row 10, seat 12). Despite the miserable weather, I (along with a friend) had a great time. Would have been better if the home team won, of course. You are right; we’re going to love this place. I already do, and will be back many more times. I also noticed that the lighting looked kind of spotty, especially in the outfield. There were lots of dark areas. I hope the field lighting will be properly adjusted by the next homestand.

  7. […] a neat roundup on the Cheney Stadium reopening from Rainiers broadcaster Mike Curto. The Rainiers got former player Eddie Fisher to throw out the […]