Round Rock Advances, Fresno Pushed To Game Four

One of the PCL playoff teams completed a series sweep last night.

Round Rock starting pitcher Phil Klein dealt seven shutout innings as the Express edged Oklahoma City, 2-1. The polished off a three-game sweep for Round Rock, which will host the first two games of the PCL Championship Series on Tuesday and Wednesday.

In the Pacific Conference, El Paso used one big inning to stay alive with a 6-4 win over Fresno. Fresno leads the series, 2-1.

Predictions update: as I predicted, I was totally wrong about the American Conference where I guessed that Oklahoma City would win the series. I still have a chance to be totally wrong about the Pacific Conference, but I picked Fresno so I need El Paso to win two more.

I had fun calling the Mariners-Rockies game with Rick Rizzs last night – big thanks to Randy Adamack for giving me the opportunity. It was a good, tense game but the Mariners came up short.

It looks like 2015 will go down in my memory as “the Dustin Garneau year.” In the fifth game of the PCL season, Garneau was with Albuquerque when he homered in the eighth inning against Tacoma to help tie the game 2-2, and then hit a walk-off home run in the tenth to beat the Rainiers. Then in last night’s game, I was on the mic when Garneau snapped a scoreless tie with a three-run homer to left in the seventh inning, leading the Rockies to a 4-2 win.

Truth be told: prior to the Rainiers arriving in Albuquerque on the fifth day of the season, I had never heard of Garneau. He ended up having a good season as a Triple-A rookie for the ‘Topes, then injuries to two Rockies catchers have resulted in him getting a chance to play nearly everyday down the stretch, and now he’s already homered off Hisashi Iwakuma and James Shields. He could parlay this into a major league career.

Links:

Comments are closed.

