Three Week Countdown

Tomorrow we will be exactly three weeks away from the Tacoma Rainiers season opener, which will be played in lovely El Paso, Texas on April 9. Things are starting to heat up around here, as more tasks stack up in preparation for the season. Just when you cross a few items off your list, you think of six more things you need to get done before opening day.

My annual trip to Mariners/Rainiers spring training camp will be next week. I’ll be at the complex watching games on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. It will be a busy week on the blog as I’ll pass along what I see down there.

Minor league “exhibition” games begin this Saturday and run through April 4. The Mariners have four teams put together in minor league camp, and these are classified from Triple-A to Low-A. They will play teams from other organizations who have their camps on the west side of Phoenix. In Saturday’s “Triple-A Exhibition Opener,” if you will, an early form of the Rainiers will play Omaha on a back field of the complex in Peoria.

I’ll be watching these minor league games when I get down there next week – and maybe I’ll sneak into a big league game to catch a few innings.

In the meantime, here’s the latest news from Mariners camp:

Looking to join a free NCAA bracket? Friend Of The Blog Christian Caple is running one through his Huskies page for The News Tribune. See if you can beat me – it’s easy!

One Response to Three Week Countdown

  1. grasspunk says:

    Remember Luis Ugueto? I have one of his bats, bought off ebay for a very reasonable price. There’s not much baseball here (SW France) but Luis’ bat still gets use from my 10yo son, who is younger than the bat.

