Outfield Gets Crowded

The Mariners made a small roster move yesterday, claiming outfielder Travis Witherspoon off waivers from the Los Angeles Angels. They also designated catcher Henry Blanco for assignment.

Witherspoon goes on the 40-man roster, although he is probably in line for another season of Double-A baseball. Witherspoon is 24 years old, and is a “toolsy” player who hasn’t put it all together in the upper levels of the minor leagues. Last year he hit .214 with 11 homers and 30 stolen bases for the Angels Double-A Arkansas club.

Witherspoon is a roll of the dice by the Mariners. Maybe it will all click for him in 2014, he’ll rise to the big leagues and the Mariners will look like geniuses. On the other hand, maybe he’ll never figure out Double-A pitching and we’ll never see him in the Northwest. Who knows?

The Tacoma outfield looks to pretty full right now, with Stefen Romero, Xavier Avery and James Jones inked in, and Abraham Almonte in there if he doesn’t make the big club. Julio Morban had a good year in AA and could be in line for a promotion. Nate Tenbrink and Joe Dunigan are going to press for outfield time. Carlos Peguero is out of options next year – his status is up in the air right now.

We’re just getting started with the off-season moves – I have a feeling there are going to be a lot of them this winter.

Links:

There are two Game Fives in the MLB Division Series playoffs. I’m pulling for Pittsburgh and Detroit. Of course, I picked the Tigers to win the World Series, so I need them to beat Oakland. If I had known that Miguel Cabrera was this injured, I wouldn’t have picked them!

2 Responses to Outfield Gets Crowded

  1. mike says:

    my opinion that guys like Joe Dugan & Nate Tenbrink might be on verge of getting cut in spring training.. Both are decent player but are not worth keeping, same goes for Travis witherspoon who will most likely end up get DFA again during the winter…

  2. gijoestros says:

    Mike,
    Been listening to your broadcasts since 2006, you should get your shot at the Big Show. I think that’s the more appropriate payoff for your work. I have to let my Rainiers season tix go next year, so I’m glad I’ll have your play-by-play to listen to.

