Mariners Awards Announced

The Seattle Mariners Minor League Awards were announced yesterday – here are the winners:

Player Of The Year: shortstop Chris Taylor, who started the season at Class-A High Desert and was promoted mid-season to Double-A Jackson. Combined, Taylor hit.314 with eight home runs and 60 RBI. Taylor drew 84 walks, stole 38 bases, and scored 108 runs – a total which ranked third in all of minor league baseball. I expect to see Taylor in Tacoma next year – if not on Opening Day, then at some point midway through the season.

Pitcher Of The Year: no surprise here, it’s Taijuan Walker all the way. Walker made 25 minor league starts between Jackson and Tacoma, posting a 2.93 ERA with 160 strikeouts in 141.1 innings pitched. Walker will compete for a spot in the Mariners starting rotation next spring.

Relief Pitcher Of The Year: Jackson right-hander Carson Smith gets the nod, posting a 1.80 ERA with 15 saves in 44 games. I thought we might see him in Tacoma during the 2013 season, but he got off to a slow start before really clicking in the second half, so the Mariners decided to leave him in Jackson and let him have a successful season. We’ll see him in 2014.

Heart and Soul Award: Tacoma’s Abraham Almonte receives the honor for “exemplary play and leadership.” Almonte hit .300 with 15 home runs and 26 stolen bases in 123 games between Jackson and Tacoma. He played 93 of those games for Tacoma, ranking fourth in the PCL with a .403 on-base percentage. He’s in the big leagues right now.

Broadcaster Of The Year: Tacoma’s own ok that one doesn’t exist.


Enjoy the weekend!

3 Responses to Mariners Awards Announced

  1. Mark Daniel says:

    Tell me what you think the future of Rich Poythress is?

  2. Matt says:

    Broadcaster of the Year: Tacoma’s own Bob Robertson??? He’s way better than that Curto guy. 😉

%d bloggers like this: