Omaha Wins It All

The Triple-A season came to a finish last night, as the Omaha Storm Chasers defeated the Durham Bulls in the Triple-A National Championship Game, 2-1.

Omaha starting pitcher Chris Dwyer had a perfect game through six innings, and ended up tossing seven innings of one-hit ball.

Omaha missed some early scoring opportunities, and things got dicey in the ninth before Zach Jackson closed it out.

Even though it’s just an exhibition game, I’m glad the PCL team won it.

The Rainiers posted their 2014 schedule today – it’s right here.

Right now it’s just the dates; the game times and promotions will be added later.

A few things immediately stick out:

  1. It sure looks weird with all of those El Pasos and Albuquerques. The realignment certainly changed thing up!
  2. We’ll be done playing division rivals Sacramento and Reno in July, with only head-to-head games against Fresno in August.
  3. Cross-conference play is very late, wrapping up with the second-to-last series of the year. No idea why they did that, but it certainly detracts from the division races.
  4. It’s nice to see the regular season finish right on September 1 – I wish it could be like that every year.

The game times and promotions will come out some time this winter.

Links:

  • We start with the game story from the Omaha newspaper. In this notebook, we learn that Chris Dwyer was rewarded with his first-ever big league call-up.
  • MiLB.com has a game story, and a one-pager with links to video highlights from the Triple-A National Championship Game.
  • The Mariners lost in Detroit, 6-2. The positive was a decent start by Brandon Maurer.
  • In Ryan Divish’s notebook, he reports that Rainiers reliever Forrest Snow was suspended 50 games for “drugs of abuse.” He’ll serve his suspension next season.*
  • Presented without comment, this awkward slide.

The off-season is almost upon us. The Mariners have two weeks left, and then we’ll have the MLB Playoffs which should be a lot of fun. The American League pennant race – particularly the wild card chase – is a lot of fun to follow right now.

* While I have no idea what Snow was caught with, and I’m definitely not condoning anything, I will point out that MLB’s list of “drugs of abuse” includes substances that are legal in the state of Washington. Still, everybody knows what they are being tested for.

One Response to Omaha Wins It All

  1. michael says:

    ariners minor league pitcher and former Washington Husky Forrest Snow has been suspended 50 games by MLB after a second positive test for a drug of abuse in violation of the Minor League Drug Prevention and Treatment Program.

    Snow, someone we have gotten to know a little bit the past few years in spring training and as a guest on both “The Cactus League Report” and “The Hot Stove League Shows”, reached out to us this evening with the following apology:

    I was recently suspended for testing positive for a drug of abuse, marijuana. Let me first say, I have no excuse nor anyone to blame but myself. I want to apologize to the Seattle Mariners and to the community for letting you down. I accept full responsibility for my actions, and realize I need to make some life changes. I hope those I have upset will find it in their heart to forgive me, and that I can one day regain and earn their trust. Once again, I am sorry.

    Humbly,

    Forrest Snow
    http://mynorthwest.com/?nid=373

