A Fortnight Away

It’s the calm before the storm – pitchers and catchers report to spring training on February 13, with the full roster arriving on February 18. Minor league players get more time off – if they were not invited to major league camp, they report in early March.

I suspect this is going to be a quiet week here on the blog, which is a good thing because I have another writing project that I need to finish. However, we’ll start our Rainiers position-by-position breakdowns next week. I’ll do six groups of players: starting pitchers, relief pitchers, catchers, corner infielders, middle infielders, and outfielders. I’ve already started thinking about the starting pitching situation and it’s a beast.

In the meantime, there are a few Mariners and Rainiers related stories to link to – mostly as a result of the M’s FanFest, which was held this past weekend. I heard good reports from a few friends who attended.

Here are today’s links:

  • At The News Tribune, Ryan Divish caught up with Dustin Ackley at FanFest and wrote this feature.
  • John McGrath wrote a column about 19-year-old Mariners shortstop prospect Nick Franklin.
  • Larry LaRue provides a 2011 scouting report on Felix Hernandez.
  • At the Seattle Times, Larry Stone gets to the bottom of the Chone Figgins to Oakland trade rumor. My gut feeling (based on no inside information): this is dead.
  • Ex-Rainiers pitcher R.A. Dickey cashed in on his tremendous 2010 season by signing a two-year deal with the Mets. I suspect he won’t be spending all of that newfound cash on razor blades.
  • Former Rainiers third baseman Greg Dobbs signed a minor league free agent contract with the Florida Marlins. Dobbs played for Tacoma from 2004-2006, and he was voted by the fans as the third baseman on the Tacoma Rainiers Team Of The Decade.
  • I was absolutely shocked to learn that one of my favorite baseball writers, Rob Neyer, is leaving ESPN. Neyer’s espn.com column has been a staple of the web for so long, he remembers when the internet was just a series of tubes. In all seriousness, Neyer has influenced a generation of baseball writers on the web. Best of luck to my friend in his new gig – which I will link to, once I find out what it is.
  • There will be scores of these, but Dave Cameron (of Fangraphs/USS Mariner/ESPN/Wall Street Journal) wrote the first “Thanks, Rob” column I saw today.

KING 5 is out at the Cheney today, shooting stadium footage. They may have a piece on the construction in tonight’s 5:00 news.

One Response to A Fortnight Away

  1. Michael says:

    Mark Worrell who played in Tacoma for little bit in 2011 has signed with Baltimore on minor league contract…

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75,262 other followers

