The Giants Are Champs

San Francisco won its first ever World Series Championship last night with a 3-1 victory over Texas, taking the series in five games.

It was Renton native Tim Lincecum who starred yesterday, out-dueling Cliff Lee over eight nearly flawless innings.

In the end, the Giants pitching was just too much for the Rangers. In a five-game series, San Francisco tossed two shutouts and had another game allowing just one run.

It’s a special day in San Francisco – a city that has never had a World Series winner, despite having a team since 1958.

I enjoyed this series. I always like it when a new team wins, and this year that was a guarantee regardless who won it. I also enjoy it when young players are key components, and again that was the case with both teams. And on top of all of that, it’s great to see a local player shine. The only thing missing was a former Rainiers player in the mix.

San Francisco needed 52 years to win a World Series. Seattle has had a team for 34 years without winning it all. Hopefully we can win one without having to wait as long as San Francisco did!

Lots of links today:

  • Tim Lincecum was The Man yesterday, and he was the subject of a national piece from ESPN.
  • For the second time in his career, Edgar Renteria had the World Series-winning hit.
  • The Giants think that their young pitching will give them a chance to return to the World Series soon.
  • Talented writers working on deadline amaze me. Jim Caple turned out this gem following last night’s game. At the end of the story, Caple provides a look at how sports journalists sort of – but not really – stop being fans.
  • Hey, there’s Mariners news, too! Geoff Baker has an update on the Mariners coaching staff.
  • Dustin Ackley is putting up big numbers in the Arizona Fall League, but he hasn’t been stealing bases like the M’s want him to. Kirby Arnold has the story.
  • The second-best pitcher in Japan is coming to the USA. Larry Stone doubts that the Mariners will be interested.
  • Former Tacoma Rainiers pitching coach Ron Romanick got the Oakland job.
  • Pacific Coast League Hall of Fame member Artie Wilson passed away Sunday at age 90. Wilson is an interesting story on many levels – Larry Stone wrote about how he mentored Willie Mays, and his obit in The Oregonian focused on Wilson’s life in Portland.
  • Speaking of Mays, here is his reaction to the Giants win.
  • Baseball Prospectus has a free Q&A with Toronto Blue Jays radio announcer Jerry Howarth. Howarth talks about the two seasons he called games for the Tacoma Twins (1974-75), and how it was his Triple-A manager who helped him break into the major leagues.

Only three and a half months until pitchers and catchers report to spring training!

One Response to The Giants Are Champs

  1. stan says:

    Thanks for the link to the Jerry Howarth interview. I spoke to Jerry a few years ago over the phone, mostly about his years in Tacoma. He is a very nice man. I was stationed at Ft Lewis in 1974 and I am sure I must have listened to him at least a few times on the air, but to be truthful I don’t really remember him as a Tacoma broadcaster. In the early 90’s a radio station in Vancouver BC carried Jays games and one day I took my portable radio to Cheney Stadium and turned up the volume right before the start of a Tacoma Tigers game when Jerry was doing the play by play of the 8th inning from Toronto. I wrote to him to let him know that his voice was heard once again in Cheney Stadium. Jerry got a kick out of my letter and mentioned it to his dear friend
    Don Hill, former broadcaster for the Tacoma Giants and Cubs, and I think maybe a year or so for the Twins. Lo and behold I got a call from Don Hill shortly thereafter, telling me that Jerry had received my letter and had enjoyed what I wrote. I spoke to Don for a few minutes. Looking back I wish I had talked with him longer.

    If anyone has any tapes of play by play by either Don or Jerry when they were in Tacoma, I hope that they will send the recordings to Mike so that he can share them with us. (Hope you don’t mind that bit of solicitation Mike)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76,048 other followers

