Sure-To-Be-Wrong Playoff Predictions

I offer a quick mid-vacation MLB playoffs prediction post.

My friend Rob Neyer has to do predictions every year for ESPN, and he once told me that it is human nature to pick repeats from last year – but of course, that rarely actually happens. I’m keeping that in mind even though both World Series participants from 2009 are in the playoffs this year, and both appear strong.

National League Division Series

Phillies over Reds, 3-0. This seems like a lopsided series to me. The Phillies have been to the World Series two straight years, they have Halladay, Oswalt, and Hamels… and this is the very young Reds first playoff appearance in ten years. Hard to pick an upset here.

Giants over Braves, 3-1. As fun as it would be to see former Tacoma Cubs player (1966) Bobby Cox make a Series run in his final year before retiring, I’ve gotta go with the Giants and their stellar starting pitching.

American League Division Series

Twins over Yankees, 3-2. This is my upset pick. The Twins, playing without Justin Morneau, will still beat the ancient Yankees with youth and speed. I’m counting on a huge series from Delmon Young.

Rays over Rangers, 3-1. I almost put down a sweep here, but then I thought that Josh Hamilton might single-handedly win a game for Texas. The Rangers will get plenty more playoff chances in the next five years, I think.

NLCS

Phillies over Giants, 4-2. Both teams have great starting pitching, but the Phillies lineup is so superior to the Giants, I just cannot see SF winning this series.

ALCS

Rays over Twins, 4-1. Tampa will just run over ’em.

World Series

Rays over Phillies, 4-2. I’m picking youth over experience here. The Rays beat out the Yankees in the super-tough AL East, and they are primed for a deep playoff run.

There you have it – my first annual Sure-To-Be-Wrong Playoff Predictions. Impress your friends by selecting the exact opposite teams to win – you can’t go wrong!

 I’ll be back from vacation in a week and we’ll get this blog rolling again.

One Response to Sure-To-Be-Wrong Playoff Predictions

  1. I’m counting on a huge series from Delmon Young.

    For the record, you wrote that with a straight face and still picked the Twins.